Student Speaks Out

Posted on 26 november, 2013 av

0


”Yes I have already been told by legislators and administrators; Ethan, that´s just the way things work. But why? I´m gonna answer that question, it´s bureaucracy convenience. It works with nuclear reactors, it works with business models, why can´t it work with students? … But education is unlike every other bureaucratic institute in our government, the task of teaching is never quantifiable. If everything I learned in highschool is a measurable objective, I haven’t learned anything. I´d like to repeat that: If everything I learned in highschool is a measurable objective, I haven’t learned anything.

Creativity, appreciation and inquisitiveness, these are impossible to scale, but they´re the purpose of education, why our teacher teach, why I choose to learn. And today we find our selves in a nation that produces workers, everything is career- and college preparations. Somewhere our funding fathers are turning in their graves pleading, screaming and trying to say to us that we are teaching to free minds. We teach to inspire, we teach to equip, the careers will come naturally. I know we´re just one city in a huge system that excitingly embraces numbers, but ask any of theese teachers, ask any of my peers and ask your selves, haven´t we gone to far with data. … We need change but not common core, high stakes evaluations or more robots.”

Posted in: Varför skola?